//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

El Valle de Cochamó

Upon setting out on this next trip I found myself wondering, as I spoke to fellow travelers on the plane and buses, what compels us to travel? What even is the point? How would each person who finds themselves immersed in the foreign answer this question?

Maybe we just exalt in the different, in what seems extra-ordinary. Perhaps we are running away from monotony, trying to measure our lives by creating distinguishing moments. But I had to wonder, as I walked around Santiago, how seeing one more European church in just another city would add to my existence – sightseeing becomes the norm and each attraction begins to fade into the next. I felt no more cultured. That is until I innocently walked into a “coffee shop” where middle aged men were smoking and being served cappuccinos by scantily clad women. A caffeinated version of hooters… and this is where I find culture: in the absurd, the funny, the horrifying, and, of course, the beautiful.

Beauty, in its natural form, is abundant in Chile. And when it takes the form of colossal granite domes in a remote valley I find myself instantly attracted. So after leaving a bag in Santiago, stuffing all my gear and supplies into my backpack, taking a 12 hour bus, hitchhiking to the tiny town of Cochamó, then painfully lugging myself up the muddy trail, I finally made it to paradise.

Because there is no road in Cochamó is refreshingly free of motor traffic, refuse, and those who do not prove themselves in sweat. And in all my travels, climbing destinations always seem to be populated by exceptionally kind people. In my time there I went for a 22 km hike, climbed 3 days, ate lots of dehydrated soups, and then had to leave early because a huge storm was headed in that would close the trail. However, rather than recite all my adventures I’ll just give you a picture book:

El Volcán Orsorno, a great view on the drive to Cochamó

View from the town of Cochamó out onto the estuary. This is where the land starts to break apart and Patagonia begins

The mountains emerged from the clouds just in time for our hike

Muddy boots! Luckily I have high tops – the other women got sanguihuelas (leeches) in their shoes along with the mud

The end of the hike: El Arco, with towering, and endangered, Alerce trees all around

I left my heart at El Arco

Mi Carpita! My little tent. It served me well

El Catedral

La Trinidad y El Elefante

A beautiful granite crack

View from the belay station

The evening sky

My meadow. The sheep and horses kept me company.

 

 

Discussion

One thought on “El Valle de Cochamó

  1. This is ridiculous. I am so jealous. When we go on our travels, we are going here.

    Posted by Millissa | February 27, 2012, 10:39 am

Leave a comment

Categories